SKILLSTRAIN SHOULD I or Should'nt I

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by stueyxxx, Jan 22, 2006.

1. stueyxxx

stueyxxx New Member

Hi All,
    I have no IT experience but have spoken to skills train rep.

I am thinking of doing a A+ and N+ foolowed by an MCSE.
    The cost £3600 paybel over 36 months interest free. They also reckon they can guarantee getting me a job for £25K within 3 months of passing MCSE or my money back for the course.
    Because I am in security at the moment and can do course at work as well as at home they think I could pass in 10 - 12 months.

I would like to know
    1/ has anyone else passed with skillstrain
    2/ has anyone got a job through their guarantee scheme
    3/ how quick have people passed
    4/ are there any hidden costs.

I look forward to hearing your experience's with this type of training
    Regards
    StueyXXX

2. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

Stuart, I would strongly urge you to spend a considerable amount of time reading through past threads in our Training and Development forum. You will be enlightened for sure. The truth is that using any training provider can turn out to be a success story or as is far too often the case, it can turn into a disaster.

You are a newby to IT and they think you can do A+, N+ MCSE in 12 months :eek:

I would think that is highly unlikely. Just the MCSE took me 3 years full time study. I was not a newby.

These exams are tougher than they are letting on. Don't be fooled by salesman's tales of easy riches. Take what they say with a large pinch of salt.

Do your own research on the company. Try and get in contact with other students that are studying with them now.

The main reason I prefer self study is that my training provider went out of business half way through my MCSE, just as the going started getting tough. So, I had to self study, the instructors had gone and the building was locked up. This has happened to others too.

Good luck,