Should i start working towards MCSA?

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by olly, Dec 1, 2009.

1. olly

olly Bit Poster

Hi, could you please give me some advice on what exam path i should take?

Ill be passing my MCDST exams soon (thanks to this forum), which suits me at the moment as i am an it technician in a school running xp and server 2003 (unlikely to upgrade any time soon) and it will qualify me for what i already know.

But i want to work towards a server administrator qualification.

Should i go for MCSA for server 2003 at this late stage or work towards a MCIPT equivilent?

If i do go for MCSA 2003, it will be great for my current role and progressing where i am but will it be worth anything if i wanted get another job somewhere else in a year or two?

hope you can help, thanks, olly

Last edited: Dec 1, 2009
  2. Trogdor

Trogdor Kilobyte Poster Gold Member

Hi Olly, I had this same question rattling around in my head recently. I used to work for a major UK retailer (every little helps...)in IT Support and they only migrated over to XP from NT about a year ago.

I am starting my MCSA studies at the moment as well. I arrived at that conclusion because:

- It is most relevant in my former and current workplace.

- Unlike the new batch of certs, the MCSA/E never expires (the new ones expire when MS stops providing mainstream support for the product).

- When I need the newer certs, they are only a bridge exam (or two) away if you already have the MCSA/E.

- Businesses, in the main, will stay with XP / Server '03 for quite some time.

That is why I am currently studying for the MCSA - hope this helps.

Certifications: A+, Network+, Server+, PDI+, MCDST, HP APS Server, HP APS Desktop / Laptop
    WIP: ITIL, CCNA, MCSA, and BSc
  3. olly

olly Bit Poster

Hi Trogdor, Thank you for the quick response, some good points there, just what i was thinking

But I didnt realise the new MS exams expired, that is useful to know

Cheers, olly