Should I do N+ if i have CCNA

Discussion in 'Network+' started by bazzawood30, Jul 17, 2010.

1. bazzawood30

bazzawood30 Byte Poster

3 years ago i did my A+ but i never did the cert exams as it was a hobby not a career. I carried on at night school and got my CCNA inc cert, so now i want to get into the industry. But i only have a CCNA which looks odd on my CV. I am going to do a quick revision and do the A+ cert before the 31st of Aug deadline for the exams i studied for which will improve my cv.

Now the question

Should i then do N+ ?

I want to do my MCDST as well and then maybe MCSA/MCSE. I did read on another post that A+ & N+ count towards the MCSA I did not know about this can somebody explain.

Certifications: ECDL,A+,N+,CCENT,CCNA,MCP,MCDST
  2. Richy19

Richy19 Bit Poster

yea i think you should do it as you will be certified for ever whether as with the ccna you will need to renew it soon as it only lasts 3 years

As for the MCSA when you take it you need to take various exams to show you know about networks and such and if you have N+ or othr then you have already shown you know it

WIP: BTEC ND IT, CCENT, A+, N+
  3. bazzawood30

bazzawood30 Byte Poster

Ok thanks for that, does it actually reduce the total number of exams needed for the MCSA? I know the CCNA lasts for 3 years I hope to be pushing for my CCNP by then only had it a month so far.

4. Richy19

Richy19 Bit Poster

ohh rite i thought yo meant you took your ccna 3 years ago
    and yes the comptia exams take microsoft exams off of the whole process (if thta made any sense)

WIP: BTEC ND IT, CCENT, A+, N+
  5. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

A+,N+ and MCDST isth egeneral starting point. You are right about the CCNA because no network manager in their right mind would employ anyone with the CCNA, CCSP or whatever unless they had experience working with cisco swithes etc.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270