Shoot down my CV.

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by 1/4, Jan 17, 2011.

1. 1/4

1/4 Byte Poster

Hi guys,

Well, I'm sitting my essentials exam soon and looking to gear up to finish of the A+ - I am wary of putting A+ or "I am currently studying my A+" on the CV as a qualification as it always reads like arse to me.

Being proactive i'm applying for entry level roles as is and seeing what (if anything) turns up. I'm not expecting people to have my hand off but you've got to be in it to win it afterall! One thing I think is missing is an idea as to where I would like to be heading after the A+ and what I see myself doing in 2-3-4-5 years; however I would have thought that more appropriate at the interview stage.

So - please tear the CV apart limb from limb, I would rather you be honest and give me a leg up than be nice about it.

Cheers guys.

1/4

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jan 17, 2011
    Certifications: A+, N+
    WIP: 70-680
  2. LukeP

LukeP Gigabyte Poster

Right. Not too bad for a start to be honest with you.

I'll just write what I feel as I go through.

First, why would anybody wanting to work in IT use Times New Roman font. IT is modern. Times New Roman isn't.
    "information technology" sector should be "Information Technology" sector. IT! IT! not "it". :D

"Looking for a company to commit to that is interested in a long term work relationship, developing existing IT support skills with an ongoing emphasis on professional development."

You what? I might be a foreigner but I don't think it's correct English. Get rid of the whole lot and write something about you, not about your future employer. Also I don't think mentioning long term relationship is right as you might not like it and be gone in 3 months. What then? Employer was looking for long-term relationship (read "slavery with no payrise") but you weren't happy with it.