shall i do mcdst or mcitp MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Support Technician 7

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by 2036789, Sep 7, 2010.

1. 2036789

2036789 Bit Poster

i finished my it degree 2 years ago and have managed to nail a job upto now, so now im looking to get some certification to get myself an entry level job possibly helpdesk my question is should i do mcdst now that windows 7 has come out mcitp edst 7 as i assume most business are going to start use windows 7 or shall i do mcdst and then do the upgrade exam 70-682 as then i have best of both worlds

2. gosh1976

gosh1976 Kilobyte Poster

I would do the MCDST and then the upgrade. There are still a huge number of companies out there using Windows XP and there will be for quite some time.

Certifications: A+, Net+, MCDST, CCENT, MCTS: Win 7 Configuring, CCNA
  3. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Dont asume that just because windows 7 is out that everyone uses it. Many business still use XP and will still use XP even after MS stop supporting it in 2014 just like many businesses will still use server 2003 for years to come.

I know many business that still use server 2000 and windows 2000/xp and have no plans to upgrade.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  4. michael78

michael78 Terabyte Poster

I would do MCDST and upgrade it later on. As pointed out a lot of companies will use XP for the foreseeable future. I've just done a rollout of XP on new PC's and laptops so looks like XP is here to stay for a few years yet.

Certifications: A+ | Network+ | Security+ | MCP | MCDST | MCTS: Hyper-V | MCTS: AD | MCTS: Exchange 2007 | MCTS: Windows 7 | MCSA: 2003 | ITIL Foundation v3 | CCA: Xenapp 5.0 | MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Administrator on Windows 7 | MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Support Technician on Windows 7
    WIP: Online SAN Overview, VCP in December 2011
  5. simon01

simon01 New Member