Shall I buy a basic server for the 270?

Discussion in 'Windows Server 2003 / 2008 / 2012 / 2016' started by beaumontdvd, Feb 9, 2010.

1. beaumontdvd

beaumontdvd Kilobyte Poster

Hi everyone, Im studying the 270 and dont have to much excperience on servers so I was thinking should I buy a cheap one? If so does anyone have any good ideas of price ect..
    Can I still setup permissions ect for other pcs using the server if it runs server 2003?

Thanks advance,

Dave

Certifications: 070-271, 070-272, (MCDST)Level 1,2,3 NVQ
    WIP: 070-270, A+, N+, S+,MCDST 7 Upgrade
  2. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

hi,

I would suggest a good spec machine and run the server software as a virtual machine. You can apply for an actionpack (or whatever they are called these days!) and use virtual pc.

servers need to be kept cool, use lots of electricity and generally noisy.

let us know how you get on!

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  3. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

Congratulations on your MCSA mate! :rolleyes:

JK! :biggrin

Certifications: MCT, MCTS, i-Net+, CIW CI, Prince2, MSP, MCSD
  4. Shinigami

Shinigami Megabyte Poster

Yup, you don't need dedicated server hardware to run a copy of Windows 200x Server Edition for testing purposes when studying for MCP's.

The 270 especially will only skim the surface when it comes to servers, so it's not like you need to shell out tons of cash at this point.

These days almost any of the cheapest machines you can find on the market will install a copy of 2000/2003 just fine, but you may be left with driver issues. So like Boycie mentioned, make a virtual machine instead using Virtual PC and you'll be doing just fine.