1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Setting up server 03 for a mess around

Discussion in 'Windows Server 2003 / 2008 / 2012 Exams' started by beaumontdvd, Feb 9, 2010.

1. beaumontdvd

beaumontdvd Kilobyte Poster

Hi everyone, Ive installed server 03 virtually and downloaded and installed updates. I installed dhcp, AD,DNS Domain Controller, not to sure how to be honest but it was through a wizard that done them all at the same time. My question is if my domain controller is called dave-297c67f33a.smallbusiness.local on the windows xp pc do I go into my computer click join domain and write this into it? Because when I do it says it cannot locate the domain controller. Any help appreciated. Sorry if it's not detailed but I'm a beginner :oops:

thanks,

Dave

Certifications: 070-271, 070-272, (MCDST)Level 1,2,3 NVQ
    WIP: 070-270, A+, N+, S+,MCDST 7 Upgrade
  2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

You need to make sure the DNS of the client PC is pointing the DC.

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Exchange 2007\2010
  3. beaumontdvd

Yay!
    Done it, thanks alot Sparky! Makes everything so much clearer when you actually have a play about. Repped

Dave

4. beaumontdvd

Another quick question whats the difference between domain controller security policy and domain security policy. I tried creating a user in AD but the user didnt meet password requirements so I fiddled about :twisted: and then changed domain controller security policy so that meet password requirements is disabled. Also the password length I changed to 0. But i still had the error about not meeting password requirements. So I found that there is a domin scurity policy and change the minimum password length to 0 there.

And ran gpupdate /force (I was quite proud of myself) lol