Setting Up A New Home Lab - £1400

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by NWDaddy, May 17, 2009.

1. NWDaddy

NWDaddy Bit Poster

Hi All,
    first of all just wanted to say a big hello to everyone.

I've been working in the IT industry for the past 10 years in various technical roles (desktop and server support) but over the past year and a half I've taken a step back and taken on more managerial responsibilities. Long story short - I prefer the technical side of things and want to make a comeback.

I'm looking to setup a new home training lab for the Windows 2008 Enterprise Server certification and if possible something that would allow me to get my hands dirty on VMWare ESX (not sure if I'd need two ESX host machines and some kind of backend storage solution).

I don't have a great deal of cash (£1400 max) so I'm looking for any suggestions?

Certifications: A handful of MCP exams
  2. zebulebu

zebulebu Terabyte Poster

Ooooh - love posts like this!

ESX is the way to go - you can download 60 day trials of VI3 from VMWare and just keep reinstalling as they expire (the install is easy, takes about 30 minutes tops and can be scripted for repeat installs). You also definitely need shared storage - you can stick OpenFiler on a box and use that for iSCSI LUNs for VMFS. Regarding hosts, more is better - I've currently got three and am planning on two more if I can get more room in my basement :)