1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Server 2008

Discussion in 'Software' started by nugget, Jun 11, 2008.

  1. nugget
    Honorary Member

    nugget Junior toady

    7,796
    71
    224
    Anyone else deploying server 2008 in a live environment yet?

    I received my datacenter edition of 2008 this week and have just installed it to create a new DC.:biggrin

    Nice and easy to install but now I have to learn about it to set it up. All interesting stuff.

    I'm also looking forward as to how this all works with Exchange 2007.
     
    Certifications: A+ | Network+ | Security+ | MCP (270,271,272,290,620) | MCDST | MCTS:Vista
    WIP: MCSA, 70-622,680,685
  2. wagnerk
    Highly Decorated Member Award

    wagnerk aka kitkatninja Moderator

    10,831
    357
    341
    I've deployed it in our domain as a member server (using Hyper-V), currently porting our webservers on to it. Will be setting up new Windows 2008 DC's when we get our new servers in (hopefully in the summer).

    -ken
     
    Certifications: CITP, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, PTLLS, MCT, MCITP, MCTS, MCSE, MCSA:M, MCSA, MCDST, MCP, MTA, MCAS, MOS (Master), A+, N+, S+, ACA, VCA, etc... & 2nd Degree Black Belt
    WIP: PGDip
  3. nugget
    Honorary Member

    nugget Junior toady

    7,796
    71
    224
    The thing about Server 2008 that I'm very interested in playing with is NAP.

    Of course, hyper-v is also something I've looked forward to for a long time.
     
    Certifications: A+ | Network+ | Security+ | MCP (270,271,272,290,620) | MCDST | MCTS:Vista
    WIP: MCSA, 70-622,680,685
  4. wagnerk
    Highly Decorated Member Award

    wagnerk aka kitkatninja Moderator

    10,831
    357
    341
    Only played around alittle with Windows 2008 NAP, would love to implement it at our place, but I can already forsee alot more problems with our current user base: Students and teachers... :lol:

    -Ken
     
    Certifications: CITP, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, PTLLS, MCT, MCITP, MCTS, MCSE, MCSA:M, MCSA, MCDST, MCP, MTA, MCAS, MOS (Master), A+, N+, S+, ACA, VCA, etc... & 2nd Degree Black Belt
    WIP: PGDip
  5. nugget
    Honorary Member

    nugget Junior toady

    7,796
    71
    224
    The best reason to implement it then.:twisted:
     
    Certifications: A+ | Network+ | Security+ | MCP (270,271,272,290,620) | MCDST | MCTS:Vista
    WIP: MCSA, 70-622,680,685
  6. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award

    Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

    10,189
    296
    319
    Had the option of buying it with a server the other day but thought against it and went for Server 2003.

    Once I get the 70-620 out of the way I`ll be starting the server 2008 certs and then will look to install Server 2008 on a live network. 8)
     
    Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Exchange 2007\2010
  7. fortch

    fortch Kilobyte Poster

    408
    21
    35
    Don't know that we'll use it as a DC, but we do have an Action Pack license burning a hole in my pocket. Maybe Hyper-V, or possibly IAS (or whatever they call it in 08 )? Thinking of using a VM as an offline CA too...
     
    Certifications: A+,Net+,Sec+,MCSA:Sec,MCSE:Sec,mASE
  8. Tinus1959

    Tinus1959 Gigabyte Poster

    1,539
    42
    106
    Just installed it as our remote access server. Still testing.
     
    Certifications: See my signature
    WIP: MCSD, MCAD, CCNA, CCNP
  9. madman045

    madman045 Kilobyte Poster Premium Member

    271
    3
    49
    Just installed it at work, 2008 DC with Hyper-V and a VM of 2008 with Exchange 2007 SP1, already found out DHCP breaks on the DC when using Hyper-V, so no DHCP at the moment, once i've decided what to do with that, it's another VM with Server 2003, SQL 2005/2008 and Sharepoint Server 2007
     
    Certifications: 70-270, 70-290, PRINCE2 Foundation, VCA-DCV & VCA-DT
    WIP: MCSA 2008, VCP5-DCV, ITIL V3
  10. nugget
    Honorary Member

    nugget Junior toady

    7,796
    71
    224
    Anyone else had a problem with the new activation process? Seems to me that the person who dreamed up this way to activate the OS must have been an accountant and knew nothing about IT.
     
    Certifications: A+ | Network+ | Security+ | MCP (270,271,272,290,620) | MCDST | MCTS:Vista
    WIP: MCSA, 70-622,680,685
  11. wagnerk
    Highly Decorated Member Award

    wagnerk aka kitkatninja Moderator

    10,831
    357
    341
    No problems here, activated the same way as Vista :)

    -ken
     
    Certifications: CITP, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, PTLLS, MCT, MCITP, MCTS, MCSE, MCSA:M, MCSA, MCDST, MCP, MTA, MCAS, MOS (Master), A+, N+, S+, ACA, VCA, etc... & 2nd Degree Black Belt
    WIP: PGDip
  12. nugget
    Honorary Member

    nugget Junior toady

    7,796
    71
    224
    The problem I had was that it didn't ask me to put in a key to start with (one of the benefits of Datacenter edition). So, when I go to activate it throws a wobbly and tells me that it cant be activated due to some error, namely that the key management service is not enabled. What it doesn't tell me is that I need to change the key. As I had previously registered for a MAK key (2 types of key now, KMS and MAK) I used this one.

    This didn't work either and it shows me an error saying that this key does not work with this product. Further investigation shows me that the MAK keys are for activating Vista and that I need to use the KMS key (after I rang MS).

    This is driving me crazy.:x
     
    Certifications: A+ | Network+ | Security+ | MCP (270,271,272,290,620) | MCDST | MCTS:Vista
    WIP: MCSA, 70-622,680,685
  13. wagnerk
    Highly Decorated Member Award

    wagnerk aka kitkatninja Moderator

    10,831
    357
    341
    There are two type of keys used in activating Windows Server 2008 KMS & MAK and then there are two different version under that. We have activated our Windows 2008 Enterprise servers using the MAK key with no problems. The MAK keys that I use will activate either Standard or Enterprise, but looking on our MS licensing agreement, it looks like if you want to activate the Data Centre edition you need a different MAK key.

    On our MS licensing page it looks like this:

    Windows Server 2008 Std/Ent - KMS XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX
    Windows Server 2008 Std/Ent - MAK XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX
    Windows Srv 2008 Data Ctr/Itan- KMS XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX
    Windows Srv 2008 Data Ctr/Itan- MAK XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX

    Each one of those codes are different, are you sure that MS has released the bottom one to you?

    -Ken
     
    Certifications: CITP, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, PTLLS, MCT, MCITP, MCTS, MCSE, MCSA:M, MCSA, MCDST, MCP, MTA, MCAS, MOS (Master), A+, N+, S+, ACA, VCA, etc... & 2nd Degree Black Belt
    WIP: PGDip
  14. nugget
    Honorary Member

    nugget Junior toady

    7,796
    71
    224
    Windows Srv 2008 Data Ctr/Itan- KMS XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX
    Windows Srv 2008 Data Ctr/Itan- MAK XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX 0/12

    This is what it looks like on my license agreement. I take it that you understand it that you can activate an enterprise server with either a KMS or MAK key?
     
    Certifications: A+ | Network+ | Security+ | MCP (270,271,272,290,620) | MCDST | MCTS:Vista
    WIP: MCSA, 70-622,680,685

Share This Page

Loading...