Server 2003 Books

Discussion in 'Windows Server 2003 / 2008 / 2012 / 2016' started by zimbo, Feb 2, 2006.

1. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

I started studying for 70-290 today and was looking to get a reference book or two to help me out... Was looking at a range of books and a range of steep prices! :dry :blink

Windows Server 2003 Inside Out

Windows Server 2003 Administrator's Companion

Windows Server 2003 Resource Kit

Now the second book... a 2nd edition is due out end of this month...

If anyone has used them or knows anything about them please share with the rest of us your opinion. My level of knowledge isnt beginner nor advanced... but i do know more than average at this stage from experiementing on VMWare so please take this into account. Also i heard the resource kit is more helpful for actual admins already in a job and not for someone starting out.. is this true?

Thanks guys!

Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  2. ffreeloader

ffreeloader Terabyte Poster

Zimbo,

Here is what I would recommend to you. I don't have the 2003 resource kit but I do have the 2000 resource kit and I have found it to be invaluable. You get a total of 7 books in this package so it's a pretty good deal. If you're going on to your MCSE you'll find this package to be helpful all the way through.

I know most of this can be found online, but I'm someone who really likes having a book to look at, mark up, underline, etc... it's a lot easier for me.

Certifications: MCSE, MCDBA, CCNA, A+
    WIP: LPIC 1
  3. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

thanks man for the input...

4. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Thought about trying Trips book?

I'm sure he'd recommend it!!! :p

Actually I've just ordered it and am looking forward to giving it a read. :)

5. Tyler D

Tyler D Gigabyte Poster

i recieved a copy of Trip's book only a couple of days ago.