Serious newbie problem.

Discussion in 'Scripting & Programming' started by Happy protech, Dec 14, 2006.

1. Happy protech

Happy protech Bit Poster

Like some of you guys know, I just started programming with C. I got my compiler yesterday and have been experiancing diffuculties with the first step. :dry

I posted my question in a programming specific forum. But they don't seem to have a straight answer for my noobie question.

It's somthing really silly, I just know it.

I'll repost the one I already made in dev programming just in case the link get removed for advertising, or summut.

Hi everyone.

I've literally just started c programming, I got my compiler (Dev-C++) and wrote an example program into it.

Code:
     #include
    <stdio.h>

int main()
    {
      printf( "I am alive!  Beware.\n" );
      getchar();
      return 0;
    }
    I compile it, that takes .1 of second which I don't know wheter or not is right. I then hit run, and it tells me the "Source file not complied" in an error box.

The place I got the example program from was cprogramming.com I have a link to the area I was reading, here

If someone would be so kind to tell me what I'm doing wrong, I'd appriciate it.

The links to the other post in dev programming is here. The reason for the link is just to show you guys where I'm at with the problem. And to avoid a repost. If it infringes on advertisment rules then I'm sorry.

Thanks.

2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

I have that dev package on my home machine, not the work machine, so for me to help it will have to be much later tonight! :ohmy

Getting your first program to compile and run is usualy quite a step - so don't be ashamed that you are having trouble!

When you run the compiler I seem to remember that there is a window at the bottom that gives progress and error messages. What does it say?

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. Happy protech

Happy protech Bit Poster