Self Study possible?

Discussion in 'A+' started by Pheonicks56, Jan 27, 2009.

1. Pheonicks56

Pheonicks56 Kilobyte Poster

I have no real experience with computers past building my own a couple of years ago, I still think I did something wrong because I get BSODs fairly often. I'm also just finishing up my Associate's in IT, this really doesn't give me much of a technical background with basic hardware or software. So I'm wondering if it's feasible for me to purchase an A+ book and read through it and take a few practice exams and be ready to pass the real exam in the next couple of months? How long does this normally take? Thanks for the advice.

Certifications: BSIT, AAIT, A+
    WIP: Network+
  2. Spilly

Spilly Kilobyte Poster

Yep it is possible although self study dosn't suite everone. I did it and so have lots of others on this forum.

How long, well that depends on you!

My advice is get cracking now!

Certifications: A+,N+,S+,MCP,MCDST,MCITP,MCTS,MCSA,CISMP,PCI-P,SSCP
    WIP: CCSK
  3. mattstevenson

mattstevenson Byte Poster

Even if it's possible, I think you'll struggle. To take in that much information *properly* and understand it, with little background or previous understanding of it is going to be a big ask. You're going to have to really work at it. Still, no reason you can't try, eh?:)

Certifications: Triple A+. Network+, CCENT
    WIP: MCP, ICND2, Sec+
  4. Pheonicks56

Thank you for the encouragement, I am in a unique situation in that I am a stay at home dad, so I have short breaks throughout the day that I can crack a book and digest a little info over time, I feel this gives me an advantage of being able to keep ideas in my mind. Also I am looking into possibly asking for an internship at the local PC repair shop, hopefully about 10-15 hours a week, at least I'll have some applicable experience to put on a resume in the future.

5. Miro

Miro Byte Poster