Seeking advice on training/certification

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by DJN, Dec 15, 2008.

1. DJN

DJN New Member

Hi All,

I just stumbled across this site today, and seems to be the perfect place to ask for advice about how to progress my IT career.

I've worked in the industry as an Analyst programmer/Developer for about 12 years now, and had worked for the same company for almost eight of those years until January (2008) when the firm I was working for went into administration. I quickly got another (temporary) job, but they ended my contract at the end of October. Since then I've applied for a number of jobs, but most of my industry experience for the last four years or so has been in a very obscure language.

I'm faced with the need, therefore, to retrain, and I'm trying to improve my .NET skills. I already have (self taught) knowledge of C#.NET and VB.NET, but since I didn't get a chance to use these at work I'm unable to demonstrate to future employers a "proven track record" in them.

In order to improve my CV, I want to get a couple of MCTS qualifications (maybe 70-536 Microsoft .NET Framework - Application Development Foundation and 70-562 Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5, ASP.NET Application Development). However, there don't seem to be many books that are specifically geared towards these exams.

I was wondering if anybody on this forum has any experience of the Microsoft E-learning courses? There are three that would cover the two courses I mentioned above, but they cost about £150 each (one actually costs £210:eek:). I don't want to shell out that amount of cash if the courses aren't all that good.

Any thoughts on Microsoft e-learning courses? Any other advice:biggrin is very welcome

Thanks in advance

2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Hi and welcome!

So what was the 'obscure language'? In the right places this may get you another job! Obviously the mainstream agencies won't be much help.