Seek help and advice.

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by ThatLondonFella, Sep 20, 2012.

1. ThatLondonFella

ThatLondonFella Bit Poster

I've posted in here before but I will just recap. Basically, I've been unemployed for 4 months now, looking to change career paths from Sales to IT. I've been actively looking for a job (1st Line/ Helpdesk but haven't been very successful). I hold a 2:1 degree in a Computer Science discipline amongst GCSE/A-Levels. I've always wanted to get into some form of IT and only recently focused a majority of efforts on reading the Mike Myers A+ book. I've been successful in getting 2 interviews out of 60+ applications. Most recently, I went for an interview at Travelex and though the interview went amazingly well and they really liked me but they had to choose the other candidate because he didn't require training. I know I need certificates but I am in a financial position at the moment that doesn't allow for it. I've been told by IT support technicians that I should apply for helpdesk roles and have but to no avail despite my extensive IT knowledge and skills. I even asked a Uni mate of mine that now holds a senior support role but no certs, for advice but he's not sure about a route to take. So, I am here...a day before my birthday, with no job and only a degree to my name to ask for advice from more experienced users on a route to take.

I would be grateful for some advice/help...anything.

:)

Certifications: BSc
    WIP: A+ and Network+
  2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

Feck, dark days mate.

It’s the day before your bday. I suggest you get a beer, wine, whatever from the fridge and forget about the problems you have and just have a drink and chill for a while.