SBS 2003 Server, activation error, any ideas??

Discussion in 'SBS' started by TTaz69, Oct 29, 2007.

1. TTaz69

TTaz69 New Member

Firstly, may I say Hello to all, this is my first time on here, first impressions are very good, keep up the good work people.

Now to my problem.

I have a client who has SBS 2003 R2 server standard installed on a Dell machine, it was installed 6months ago roughly, all activated ok etc, has been working fine until last week, at the server when you press ctrl alt and delete to log on, it comes saying the following:

Windows Product Activation:
    This copy of Windows must be activated with Microsoft before you can continue! You cannot log on until you activat, Do you want to activate now? Click ok to activate.
    Then:
    Activation Window:
    Windows is already activated, click ok to exit.
    Then it takes you back to the logon screen.

I have called Microsoft, who basically deny this problem exists even though multiple sites confirm this can happen after updates etc etc.

Any ideas or is it a complete re-install, I normally remote monitor the server to check things running etc, now the backup has failed due to USB errors, its an External HD via USB.

The client computers are all working fine, send and recieve emails, documents, printing etc etc, just the problem exists on the server.

Thanks in advance

Mark

2. popeye67

popeye67 Bit Poster

Try this link

http://kbalertz.com/932442/Error-me...ition-Windows-activated-Microsoft-before.aspx

helped me once

3. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

I seem to remember this error coming up before. I think it was suggested that the AV suite was altering a file on scan that was responsible for activation.

I'll have a trawl through the bookmarks and see.

Oh, welcome aboard!

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  4. Fergal1982

Fergal1982 Petabyte Poster