sata 2 hdd

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by robbydog, Nov 2, 2006.

1. robbydog

robbydog Bit Poster

iv just built a new pc and when installing windows it gets so far and crashes so what i have done is installed a ordinary hard drive and hey it works installed windows etc sata drive is listed in cmos as 3rd ide master but in my computer i only have a c drive im new to sata drives so i need some help please

2. Mr.Cheeks

Mr.Cheeks 1st ever Gold Member! Gold Member

is the terminator set in the right place (A+ Hardware revision coming into play *hopeing*)

3. robbydog

robbydog Bit Poster

terminator??

4. robbydog

robbydog Bit Poster

i cant seem to install raid drivers it keeps asking for B drive do i need to make a floppy for raid drivers

5. elli5on

elli5on Kilobyte Poster

terminator??? I thought that only applied to SCSI

Certifications: A+ N+
    WIP: Thinking of MCDST
  6. Mr.Cheeks

Mr.Cheeks 1st ever Gold Member! Gold Member

oh shi7, i thought he said scsi... :oops:

in that case i'll get outta here cuz i have no idea!

see ya!

7. elli5on

elli5on Kilobyte Poster

You shouldnt need a floppy to install RAID drivers i wouldnt have thought.......

Cheek, wouldnt worry about it mate. But if your reading is as bad as your memory, youve shot it matey.... he he :biggrin

8. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Unless you have set the SATA controller in the BIOS to emulate IDE then you need a set of drivers. The motherboard CD will have these, and they need to be saved to a floppy (yes - really!).

During the installation windows will ask for 'extra drivers' (F6 IIRC) and you put the floppy in then.

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  9. elli5on

elli5on Kilobyte Poster

The master has spoken......... *bows down to harry* That guy is pure genius :biggrin

10. twizzle

twizzle Gigabyte Poster