Salary

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by exonje, May 22, 2015.

1. exonje

exonje Byte Poster

Hey peeps,

Just been for an interview and as I thought I wasn't fully qualified for the position. I am currently a 3rd line desktop engineer for a large organisation and only deal with clients rather than servers. This role required server experience, as with most other IT jobs in my area. The interview went well and it sounds like they will probably offer me a position as a 1st line agent, where I can work my way up. The issue is that I will take a hit of nearly a 5 grand pay cut. The experience I will gain is invaluable though, getting to work with many different clients (rather than the 1 big client at my current work), technologies and obviously servers.

At my current work I am not really happy and need a change. If it wasn't for the money they are offering I would snap up the opportunity.

I am wondering whether to stay in my role and try and get some server certs under my belt and keep applying for other roles (the downside of this is obviously no practical/work experience, only visualization at home). OR to take this 1st line role and gain the experience I need.

What are your thoughts?

2. Apexes

Apexes Gigabyte Poster

from what it sounds - this new place is a good number.

Can you afford to take the 5k cut? that's the ultimate question at the end of the day, work out your budgets and outgoings, and if necessary any cut backs that it'd mean. I'd favor experience over pay if starting out, and you can see working your way up and getting involved in different enterprise technologies and systems. You aren't happy either where you are, so i'd side with the new job, in my opinion.

Also - you never know, you could negotiate on the pay and explain to them, you might get lucky.

Either way, good luck :)

Certifications: 70-243 MCTS: ConfigMgr 2012 | MCSE: Private Cloud
  3. Josiahb

Josiahb Gigabyte Poster

This.