Rogue DHCP server...

Discussion in 'Network+' started by GiddyG, Jan 14, 2008.

1. GiddyG

GiddyG Terabyte Poster Gold Member

As you will notice from my WIP, I am currently studying for the N+.

One of the questions I have seen in a couple of the books I am reading is about someone having problems accessing a server on the LAN. When that person pings both the hostname and IP address of the server, the ping fails. It transpires that, when I run ipconfig, I see that the client machine has an IP address that isn't in the correct subnet.

The reason for this is that someone has put a rogue DHCP server on the LAN... :blink

Can I please ask you uber techies out there: how often would something like that happen?

Ta.

John

2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

More often than it should! :biggrin

A typical senario we get here is someone adds a WiFi router to a company network without first clearing it with the admins!

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. Stoney

Stoney Megabyte Poster

Yeah most routers now a days have their own built in dhcp server which is usually switched on by default, so it doesn't take much for someone to plonk a dhcp server on the network and cause problems! :dry

Certifications: 25 + 50 metre front crawl
    WIP: MCSA - Exam 70-270
  4. GiddyG

Thanks for the replies guys... now I realise how it could happen... thanks again... :biggrin

5. zebulebu

zebulebu Terabyte Poster

Yeps - as well as the earlier replies (both Harry and Stoney are correct, especially in smaller office environments this type of thing happens regularly), there are also plenty of scenarios where someone nefarious would do this deliberately. An unauthorised DHCP server can be an absolute bloody nightmare security-wise - just imagine someone deliberately installing a DHCP server that had the default gateway set to an IP of their choosing... it doesn't bear thinking about!

Certifications: A few
    WIP: None - f*** 'em