1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Restore defaults

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by karan1337, Dec 4, 2010.

  1. karan1337

    karan1337 Byte Poster

    205
    5
    44
    I'm more than half way through the MS press book for 70-272 and i'm stuck right now.

    What exactly does "Reset Menu and Toolbar Usage" option do apart from removing personalized menus? In short, what is the role of "Reset Menu" in the above statement, because after trying a lot, modifying menus, changing their order etc and trying the same command, all i could observe was that only the most recently used commands were removed and the menu showed no changes. Nothing more.

    I got a question wrong in the MS press book that led to this confusion.

    It says that u need to "restore defaults to the menus and also the default toolbar". For a toolbar to return to its original state(including explicit customizations) is to simply reset it.

    What i came to know after experimenting was-:
    1. To reset commands under a menu, reset the menu itself
    2.To reset all the menus, reset the menu bar.
    3.To remove personalized menus, use "Reset Menu and toolbar usage data" button.
    4.To undo all customized settings including position of menus etc, use "Detect and Repair" option.

    Thanks in advance for any clarifications.
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2010
    Certifications: MCP, MCDST, MCTS, Brainbench: XP and Vista [Master]
    WIP: Bachelors:Computer Science
  2. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

    Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

    8,871
    167
    256
    It is a violation of copyright to post actual questions here. Please edit your post and remove the actual question content.
     
    Certifications: C&G Electronics - MCSA (W2K) MCSE (W2K)
  3. karan1337

    karan1337 Byte Poster

    205
    5
    44
    Post is now edited.
     
    Certifications: MCP, MCDST, MCTS, Brainbench: XP and Vista [Master]
    WIP: Bachelors:Computer Science
  4. BosonMichael
    Highly Decorated Member Award

    BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

    19,136
    462
    374
    So are you saying that you believe the book to be in error? Have you checked their errata for the book? You can usually find it online...
     
    Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  5. karan1337

    karan1337 Byte Poster

    205
    5
    44
    Nope, i didnt say that it's an error in the book. I only wanted to know what's right and what's not so that i dont make further mistakes.

    Help appreciated.
     
    Certifications: MCP, MCDST, MCTS, Brainbench: XP and Vista [Master]
    WIP: Bachelors:Computer Science
  6. BosonMichael
    Highly Decorated Member Award

    BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

    19,136
    462
    374
    I guess I don't understand your question then, because I'm not sure what you're comparing to what. If the book says that you should "restore defaults to the menus", how is that different from "resetting the menu"?
     
    Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  7. karan1337

    karan1337 Byte Poster

    205
    5
    44
    Yes, restore defaults to menu simply means reset the menu. BUT the option "Reset Menu and Toolbar Usage" DOES NOT reset the menu. The way to reset the menu is from the "Rearrange commands" Button and then selecting Menu Bar and then clicking on Reset.

    In 1 line, what does the option "Reset Menu and Toolbar Usage" do to the menu bar? :eek:
     
    Certifications: MCP, MCDST, MCTS, Brainbench: XP and Vista [Master]
    WIP: Bachelors:Computer Science
  8. BosonMichael
    Highly Decorated Member Award

    BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

    19,136
    462
    374
    My point is, the book doesn't say to "click the Reset Menu and Toolbar Usage option", does it? In any case, it sounds like you've found the way to do it.

    To answer your second question, I have no idea what the Reset Menu and Toolbar Usage option does. I'd recommend Googling it.
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2010
    Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!

Share This Page

Loading...