Renaming Computer Accounts problem

Discussion in 'Windows Server 2003 / 2008 / 2012 / 2016' started by Meeker, Mar 8, 2008.

1. Meeker

Meeker New Member

As part of a simulation I am reorgansing the naming conventions on my network.

Previously the DC was called SERVER1 and my Domain Admin profile was stored as Administrator.SERVER1. I changed the DC computer name to DOMAIN1DC1.

The problem is my Domain Admin account is still using Administrator.SERVER1. This is confirmed in Windows Explorer under Documents and Settings. I have done several reboots.

How do I reflect the changes?

Certifications: MCSE NT4, 70-270
    WIP: MCSE 2003
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

I am no expert but I think you have to actually delete the account then create a new one.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. JohnBradbury

JohnBradbury Kilobyte Poster

That depends what you mean by domain computer account. If you mean the machine computer account then no, renaming this will cause you problems.

If you mean the domain administrators User account, then yes you can rename this without causing any problems.

If you mean you want to rename the local profile then yes you can rename it.

4. popeye67

popeye67 Bit Poster

You can rename DC under certain conditions;

Is your DC win2003 ? then yes you should be able too (not the best practice in the world)
    Do you have CA installed ? If yes , trash the server and start again.
    If you can two ways of doing this : standard through system properties and netdom computername cli.

5. JohnBradbury

JohnBradbury Kilobyte Poster

It's confusing the way you've worded the question. I suspect from the way you've put it that you've already changed the hostname of your DC and have renamed the domain admin account. However you're concerned that the local profile on the DC hasn't changed.

Is this a correct interpretation?