Relocation Advice

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Pheonicks56, Mar 19, 2009.

1. Pheonicks56

Pheonicks56 Kilobyte Poster

So at the moment I live in Japan, but will be moving to San Diego, CA. in September, my wife is active duty Navy so we're PCSing. My question is when should I start the job search and get my resume (cv) out there, should I wait till I'm actually in country and can attend interviews in person or should I start probing the waters a couple of months out? I don't want to start applying for jobs and then get asked to interviews that I can not attend, but I don't want to be stuck looking for a job for 3 months because the market is so bad. I'm looking for an entry level help desk position and I have no previous experience. I have my AAIT and I should be getting my A+ before I start the job hunt.

Certifications: BSIT, AAIT, A+
    WIP: Network+
  2. zebulebu

zebulebu Terabyte Poster

Hmmm - tricky one this. I think at a junior level you should probably wait to get your CV out until about a month before you make the move. If it were more senior positions you were applying for, larger firms would probably have hi-def VCs and conduct interviews via that method (that's how I did two of the interviews for my current job - parent company is in the US), so it would pay to get your CV doing the rounds earlier, but I can't see them doing this at a junior level.

However, that said, I wouldn't leave it until the very last minute because you could be waiting weeks to get any sort of interview - which might be a nice opportunity for you to check out SD (my brother's just been and enjoyed it immensely) but your wife might have the arsehole if you're not contributing to the rent!

Whereabouts in Japan are you BTW? Got a friend who married a Japanese girl and moved over there about 14 years ago - haven't heard from him for a while. He lives in Kobe (and survived the earthquake!)

Certifications: A few
    WIP: None - f*** 'em
  3. Pheonicks56