Recruitment Agent's Advice on Certs

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Big.O.UK, Aug 16, 2006.

1. Big.O.UK

Big.O.UK Bit Poster

Hi guys i just had a meeting with a Recruitment agency adviser and i explained to him that i am currently studying for my A+ then hopefully my N+ then leading on to my CCNA however he suggested that the CCNA would be a bit hard to get employment in since it is a qualification that would benefit somebody who actually works in the networking field and wouldn't be much use for someone who has no experience at all since employers would be reluctant to hire them.

Therefore he suggest that i take the following Route for a Junior Position and enhance my Career Development Options

A+ then N+ then Server + or Security + then do an MCP in MS Exchange Server that would be the desired route for someone wishing to start out and get an entry level,junior job in Networking in his Opinion rather than jumping into a CCNA.

As for Programming he suggested that i expand on what I learnt in JAVA in Uni and get a copy of MS Visual Studio.NET 2005 and learn VB.net and C# because employers are looking for applicant that are knowledgeable in those languages then he suggested when i am ready to do a MCSD.

he also suggested i learn SQL MS SQL Server using SQL in MS Access and learn MySQL

i am just wondering what you all thing of this and whether you would agree with his opinion

thank you very much

Certifications: BSc SDA,HND SWENG
  2. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

I would say the agency will be aware of the certs that employers request when placing ads in his company. This is usually every Cert under the Sun!

Is it an agency that concentrates on IT? Fair enough about A+, N+ and Server+, but i was led to believe Exchange is a hard exam to pass and to set-up/admin Exchange you would have to be confident in 2K3, Active directory, DNS, DHCP, Group Policy etc..

Just my 2p

Si