Recording VHS onto PC

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Cockles, Feb 16, 2007.

1. Cockles

Cockles Megabyte Poster

Hi

Sorry if this is the wrong forum, couldn't work out what would be the best one!

Basically, I'm looking to convert some old VHS videos I have to digital and hopefully put them on a DVD

Has anyone done this before, and do you need any specific requirements?

I am assuming that you would need to input the video signal via the graphics card. I'm currently running the Geforce 7600GT

Also, can the incoming video signal be recorded on something like Windows Movie Maker, then saved as an AVI file?

If not, does anyone have any recommendations on hardware/software needed in order to do this?

Sorry, lots of questions, but any help much appreciated

Thank you

Certifications: None
    WIP: Trying to find my car keys
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

I'm no expert in this field, but I'm converting my old VHS movies to .avi then converting them to DVD format.

I have a 7600gs, but I also have a tv tuner card that I plug my vhs into. I use Movie Maker to capture the movie from the vhs and save it to .avi, then I use nero 7 to encode the .avi file to dvd format.

I'm sure others will have better, more efficent ways to do this.

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. Cockles

Cockles Megabyte Poster

Ken, you are a scholar and a gentleman

To be perfectly honest, I was hoping it would be some set up likte that. My 7600GT apparently has a TV tuner and that on it, so I was hoping I could run it through that. Also, didn't know Nero 7 would encode AVI to DVD so that's handy

4. Raffaz

Raffaz Kebab Lover Gold Member