Recent graduate - How to get my first role in IT? or do a Msc?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by asianguy, Jul 18, 2015.

1. asianguy

asianguy New Member

Well, I'm currently 21 and have just finished studying IT at university (I managed to secure a 1st class overall).

However here is my big problem. I didn't do a placement year, hence I have no industry experience at all! Now it's been almost 2 months since I finished and I can't seem to secure a job.
    (I have had 6 interviews so far...)

Financially I am at my breaking point, hence I am becoming more and more desperate to get a IT job.

I've gone for 2 types of roles "IT Support(1st line)" and "web developer", I do not have experience for either though. Anyway, the university has offered me a free Msc Computer Science, because of my low-income/ethnic background/hard work?

So, either I find a IT job by September or do the free Msc, which would you guys suggest? (Honestly, I am not fussed about salary! I really just want some experience)

So guys, please give me some advice on what to do. I am really confused.

Should I forget the Msc, do any job - save up and do a CompTIA A+ instead?

Or

Do the Msc for 1 year (+ work part time at a call centre) - improve my computing skills hence it might allow me become a web dev or do a PGCE straight after the Msc?

----
    Sorry for the long post and awful grammar, it's just been stressing me out for a while.

2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

A masters wont solve your job problems, you'll be back in same position in a years time, unless there's something awfully special about what you will do on the masters...

Personally an IT Masters is to me an anathema.

You don't need a masters to get into IT, you cant do a Phd in IT, whats the masters for exactly ?

Why would you need A+ if you have a 1st in IT ? Surely you should already know 99% of the content of the A+ ?