Question: Requarding 70-291

Discussion in 'Network Infrastructure' started by comp_ junkie, Sep 25, 2009.

1. comp_ junkie

comp_ junkie Bit Poster

I am currently studying for 70-291... I just finished The course.."Instructor" led.. i have My lab set up Using an Old Dell P4 laptop.. 2 gig prossessor and 1.5 gig of Ram...and using One of my desktops as a client.. i have my Domain Set "classroom.com... but want to better familiarize myself with simulation... I have Heard about VMware... and certain other apps.. but have never Used it..... I am still reading Sybex 2nd edition.. with some of the sample questions that are included...Installed server 2003 on The Laptop.... i am looking to 'like with Cisco uses Boson simulator to create Virtual networks in its Prep....can i use Boson for MS as well, since there are so many scenerios. What can i use to simulate networks @ home on my lab.... will i need a stronger machine Than my laptop... where would be The first place to start what simumlation tool can i use as refferance......:eek:

Certifications: A+ Network+ Security+ IT PRO MCP CNST
    WIP: MCSA / CEH
  2. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

JK2447 Petabyte Poster Administrator Premium Member

Thats some old kit to be running labs on IMO. Most of us opt for a higher spec machine running Virtual PC or VMWare to run typically 3 instances of 2003 with 2 XP possibly 2 Vista clients. Do you work in IT do you mind me asking? 291 is for people with 18 months Server/Network experience and as I've seen on here, almost impossible to pass without the experience never mind a lab.

Certifications: VCP4, 5, 6, 6.5, 6.7, 7, 8, VCAP DCV Design, VMConAWS Skill, Google Cloud Digital Leader, BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VSP, VTSP
    WIP: Google Cloud Certs
  3. BosonMichael