question about cisco certificate

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by pizzatoandrea, Jul 17, 2014.

1. pizzatoandrea

pizzatoandrea New Member

Hi everyone,
    I'm studying to get a master degree in software engineering but I would like to get a cisco certificate cos i noticed that a lot of companies require it and honestly I think it would help me to improve my skills. I wanted to ask you a question: do you thin it's possible to study without any course and also which kind of book would you suggest? I was thinking about getting the exam done before the end of october. do you think it's possible?
    thank you

2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

You're studying Software engineering and wondering about Cisco certs? What IT route are you in/thinking about going into? Programming or Support (eg networking)? Do you already have IT work experience?

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

Umm... why? Unless you want to drop software engineering and go in to networking why would you bother getting certified in something that's not going to help you get a role after Uni?

Also and I can't stress this enough, the CCNA \ CCNP exams are designed to prove existing experience, if you want a primer to Networking then have a look at the CCENT or Network+, don't get a certified to a level that you lack the experience of (you're not a Network Admin (it's in the NA).

I can tell you that the developers I work with don't have to worry about anything like Networking or OS based certifications because it doesn't touch their day to day technology interactions.