?PSU problem

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Bigsistermidnight, Feb 20, 2006.

1. Bigsistermidnight

Bigsistermidnight Bit Poster

The word has got out that I am doing my A+ and I have been asked if I will have a look at a friends pc. Was working with no problems, then next time they tried turning it on nothing happened. They tried other electrical items in the wall socket (obvious I know), but that was ok. I have been reading up on here and my books and I think the PSU is the problem. I am planning to look at it tomorrow and just looking for some advice really. This is my first time trying to troubleshoot hardware, I have a multimeter (used one before) and a lot of courage! :biggrin

Any advice and suggestions gladly welcome. :oops:

Certifications: SG Computing Studies(ha ha),ECDL
    WIP: A+
  2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Because the PSU and the motherboard are closely coupled it is by no means sure that a PSU is the problem here.

I'd suggest that it is a good time to buy a PSU tester (Maplins sell them among other places). This allows you to test a PSU without involving a motherboard to switch it on. You can then check all the voltages are correct.

Do you get a beep on power on?

Try removing all the cables for drives from the motherboard (noting where and how they plugged) and any extra cards other than the video one. Try again. Any change?

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. Bigsistermidnight

Thanks Harry

Theres no noise at all. Will try removing all cables and see if that helps.

4. hbroomhall

No noise usualy means the processor isn't starting. Unfortunately this can be caused by almost anything.

Harry.

5. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster