Protecting my future

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by chrome, Apr 1, 2015.

1. chrome

chrome Bit Poster

* Couldn't find a "general certifications" forum so I posted it here.

Hello all!

A bit of a random one...

I co-own a business which has been running for over 3 years now. Before then I studied one year at Uni and dropped out, leaving with a Certificate of Higher Education in computing, which in the UK is level 4 and the equivalent to a HNC. Not great I know, but on the other hand I've got a business and I've gained loads of experience. Before this I did some IT hardware course at college and I had jobs as an IT technician.

Moving on to my thoughts..

Business is good, but like any business, the future can't be predicted, and if for whatever reason the business was to close I would have experience but no real qualifications.

My job title is IT manager because I do all of the IT stuff for the business. The issue is, as the business is ran by just the 2 of us, I've never been able/had to set up a network, servers etc and that's where I'm really lacking.

To be honest this is a snapshot of my IT job roles over the last 3 years, excluding all of the non-IT stuff:
    • Creating and maintaining websites including webstores, forums.
    • Lots of designing labels on Photoshop & the odd photoshoot
    • FTP/SSH and playing with the VPS for backups etc
    • Lots of SEO
    • The odd bit of PC maintenance like Windows reinstalls
    • IT & data protection policy.
    So as you can see. I am the IT manager, but I'm not an IT manger compared to real job specs. I have lots of web skills but that isn't something I want to pursue. I have learnt how to create and run a successful business though, so please don't look down on my poor IT skills as I have learnt others!