Project Management

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Fresh108, Mar 2, 2009.

1. Fresh108

Fresh108 Bit Poster

How many guys here have gone into project management with these certifications. My idea is getting A+, N+ MCITP, MCSA and MSCE, whilst working in a technical role and then gradually getting to a project management role.
    How realistic does this sound? I hear a lot of people say "once you're in a technical role you'll always be the IT support guy getting your hands dirty" - not that i dont like that, but in years to come I'd like to see myself as a project manager.

What route have guys here taken?

Certifications: BSc Computer Science, A+
    WIP: MCDST
  2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

Why not do an MBA or similar now if you want to do management ?

3. craigie

craigie Terabyte Poster

I was a Project Manager for a number of years.

However, this was operationally rather than being solely IT based an example of work I have undertaken are getting Company A accredited with:

- BACS Bureau Status
    - ISO 9001
    - Specifications and deploying new Internal IT System
    - Integration of Client Systems with Third Parties for MIS purposes.

Have to say I enjoyed this work, but the hours are long and travelling around the UK was always an arse.

ITIL and Prince are the most recongised routes for Project Management in IT.

Certifications: CCA | CCENT | CCNA | CCNA:S | HP APC | HP ASE | ITILv3 | MCP | MCDST | MCITP: EA | MCTS:Vista | MCTS:Exch '07 | MCSA 2003 | MCSA:M 2003 | MCSA 2008 | MCSE | VCP5-DT | VCP4-DCV | VCP5-DCV | VCAP5-DCA | VCAP5-DCD | VMTSP | VTSP 4 | VTSP 5
  4. Fresh108

Fresh108 Bit Poster

I don't have the funds for that, and don't want to go back to uni. Im at a stage where I feel like self studying and working for cash.

5. Fresh108

Fresh108 Bit Poster