Product Key Issue

Discussion in 'Software' started by Mac70, Nov 28, 2006.

1. Mac70

Mac70 Bit Poster

Im in the process of building a basic PC which I will be putting Linux on.But as Im studying for my A+ I thought Id could dual-boot with XP so that I could do the exercises for the OS without worrying about problems.
    What Ive got is the Recovery DVD I made when we got our main comp and I thought Id install XP from that.(Probably illegal I know). Im sure during the install it will ask for the Licence Key which I dont have so how do I work around that?

Certifications: Zilcho
    WIP: Considering MCDST
  2. AJ

AJ 01000001 01100100 01101101 01101001 01101110 Administrator

I'm sorry my friend, but you are in the wrong place to ask that sort of question.

The only advice is if this is a reinstall then there should be no problem with re-activating it. If you have not got a licence key the that's a problem that you'r going to have to overcome on your own.

Certifications: MCSE, MCSA (messaging), ITIL Foundation v3
    WIP: Breathing in and out, but not out and in, that's just wrong
  3. Mr.Cheeks

Mr.Cheeks 1st ever Gold Member! Gold Member

mate - if it's illegal, then you should buy a legal copy of Windows...

as for the recovery disc, the ones that i have dealt with do not ask for the license key... just realised, the recovery disc that is for your *main pc* more likely will not work as the hardware will be different.

4. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Hi,

It was not that long ago that on the purchase of a machine, you would recieve the *full* XP disc. By full i refer to the same version of XP that you would pay for over the counter and could go through setup, partition etc.