Poo:Poo Degree

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by adam9, Apr 22, 2016.

1. adam9

adam9 Bit Poster

I got a 2:2 degree a number of years ago and employers in the rare interviews I get bring it up and ask why I didn't do well along with my D's at A-Level.
    During my 3 years at Uni I worked at Sainsbury's so I'm thinking, ditch my degree and just emphasise that I spent 3 years after sixth-form at Sainsbury's. Some months after my degree I did bunch of CompTIA and MCP certs before my first entry level IT job so that would show the transition away from pushing trolleys to IT.
    I hoped the experience I accumulated in IT and the certs I passed at the time would mitigate my rubbish academic record but it doesn't seem to be the case.

What do you think will taking off the degree actually improve my CV?
    During A-Levels I worked in my local Iceland so I could ditch my rubbish A-Levels too maybe.

Last edited: Apr 22, 2016
  2. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

JK2447 Petabyte Poster Administrator Premium Member

Top Poster
    of the Month

Hi Adam, I've got a degree and I don't put my A levels on my CV any more. I did fairly OK, but not all A's. I'd leave your A Levels off definitely. With regard to your 2.2 degree, I wouldn't worry about it. You've shown commitment sticking with the course. What was your degree in? Some find they pick Physics say, find it bores them and end up in IT. I know a good few people in IT with Physics degrees, not really related to Computer Science

Certifications: VCP4, 5, 6, 6.5, 6.7, 7, 8, VCAP DCV Design, VMConAWS Skill, Google Cloud Digital Leader, BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VSP, VTSP
    WIP: Google Cloud Certs
  3. zxspectrum

zxspectrum Terabyte Poster Forum Leader Gold Member