Passing the MTA Exam 98-365

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by PadawanTechie, Jul 4, 2011.

1. PadawanTechie

PadawanTechie Bit Poster

Hi all,

I'm hoping to start my Microsoft certifications with a nice little MTA preferably Windows Server Administration Fundamentals Exam 98-365. But how should I prepare for this.

I'm an Bsc Media technology student with an A+ and soon to have N+. I visited the microsoft website and looked at the exam objectives which seem straight forward enough but it doesn't recomend any study resources or meterial to prepare for this exam.

Where should I start? Has anyone just passed this exam.

Please help

Regards

Certifications: Bsc (Media Technology), A+
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

My team and I have passed this exam, to be honest, if you already have basic experience with the technology it'll be a walk. However if you don't, then:

Collection 6420: Fundamentals of a Windows Server 2008 Network Infrastructure and Application Platform

Covers what you need to know.

Or the Wiley book is a cheaper resource :)

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. PadawanTechie

PadawanTechie Bit Poster

Thanks Ken.

Do you rate the wiley book as comparable equivalent to the Collection 6420.

And for a person who has very basic skills what would you suggest my study techniques should be.

Certifications: Bsc (Media Technology), A+
  4. Kitkatninja

It's ok, one of our tech's used the Wiley book instead of the online collection and passed. So it can't be bad :)

The MTA exams are heavily weighted towards theory, rather than practice. But like every exam, create yourself a virtual machine and work through it :)

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
  5. David_Sussex