out of my depth??

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by irf, Nov 12, 2007.

1. irf

irf New Member

hello guys and girls, thought it best to introduce myself.
    i've been driving buses(i know i know) for the last couple of years, before that i was a chauffeur. having got fed up with not so nice members of the public day in day out i knew i had to do something. My wife suggested skillstrain and i thought why not!
    anyway, this could turn out to be a very long story so i'll try and keep it short. a lady came to the house, suggested a few paths i could take. as i didnt know what any of them meant:blink i went with her suggestion of CISCO CCNA. i think she was impressed with the speed i done her test, dunno if that was just her marketing though.
    anyway, at the moment i'm studying at home, been doing this for a couple of months and am near the end of section 1 part b. i appreciate though this probably doesn't mean much to most.
    the point of this introduction? well, at the moment i will have absolutely nothing to contribute:biggrin hopefully as time goes by and i gain some knowledge i will be able to.

btw, i am aware of the stigma associated with those studying at home but seeing as i saw it as my only option at the time, well, here's hoping for the best:beers2

Certifications: ha!!
    WIP: CCNA
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi Welcome

I take it you don't have any real on the job experience of working with CISCO stuff?

I take it this person was from Advent or skillstrain etc?

You shouldn't really be CCNA without any experience I may end being more difficult for you to get a job if you manage to pass it. This type of cert is really for someone with 6 month to years experience of networking with CISCO equipment.

I would have recommended the compTIA A+, N+, get a job whilst doing it before doing CCNA.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?