OU MS courses

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by bluechip, Oct 6, 2010.

1. bluechip

bluechip New Member

Hi

I'm new to MS certification and am trying to find out more about it and what it entails.

I am signed up to do a Foundation degree in Computing with the OU. I signed up mainly because I am interested in the Programming modules but I just realised that part of my course is a compulsory unit that requires MS certification. The courses I have to choose from are:

MS70-621 OR
    MS70-620 OR
    MS70-270 *OR
    MS70-640 AND MS70-642 OR
    MS70-680;

The OU gives you 30 credit points for having one of these certificates (plus you pay them £80).

I'm just wondering how to go about getting certified in one of these courses and which you would recommend? Will the Vista ones go out of date now that Windows 7 is here? I think the XP course is non-viable as the OU won't accept it from next year so it would have to be Vista or Windows.

Also what is the cheapest level of kit I would need (eg. would a cheapo PC be enough or do you need something fancy?). Is it the kind of thing you could self-study and pass (I learn best through self-directed learning rather than a classroom but I need to be competent enough to pass).

Do you have to buy professional Windows 7 etc.?

Also I was reading a review on Amazon of a Self-Directed Book for these MS certificates and one of the reviewers said something about needing two PCs to pass the exam. Is this the case?

Also how long would you say it takes to learn the info and study for one of these exams?

Sorry for all the questions - I have grown up using another OS so I don't really know much about MS or Windows but I'm hoping to learn more.

Thanks
    Bluechip :D

2. dales

dales Terabyte Poster