OSI On the Network +

Discussion in 'Network+' started by Luddym, Feb 11, 2006.

1. Luddym

Luddym Megabyte Poster

I'm studying for my Network + (Having got spine tinglingly close to taking my 70-270, for the second time, and still not feeling comfortable with it) and wondered how important it is I know the intricate details of the OSI, instead of just vaguely knowing what is what.

It apears to be in the 'Protocol and Standards' area of the Network + Exam, which in all only has a 20% weighting.

I know it is worth learning everything back to front, but I've been forgetting things recently, so have been trying to streamline the learning process.

So . . . how important really is it to know the OSI back to front. I alrealy know which level comes where, and am planning to know what protocols etc relate to which OSI levelbut other than that . .. . .

Certifications: VCP,A+, N+, MCSA, MCSE
    WIP: Christmas Drunkard
  2. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

I think that you should also know how the different protocols interact with each other, i.e. how they communicate between the layers.

8)

3. arisen

arisen Byte Poster

You should be very comfortable with the OSI before sitting the Net+. Make an effort to get a very good conceptual understanding of it at this stage, it will pay off later too.

Certifications: BEng, PRINCE2, ITIL, Net+
    WIP: MSc, Linux+ 2009, RHCE
  4. Japanese Elvis

Japanese Elvis Nibble Poster

I found the concept of the OSI model a bit difficult at first, and if I'm honest I probably could (should?) have a better understanding of it now.

I would suggest you know all the layers, what order they are in, what their functions are, and what devices operate at what layer.

It may take a wee bit more reading but it's guaranteed to have some bearing on more than one question in the exam.

Have you downloaded the free study guide from Cramsession?

https://www.cramsession.com/certifications/products/list-study-guides.asp