Numbering system explained...?

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Thomas, Aug 31, 2009.

1. Thomas

Thomas New Member

Hello,
    I would like to know if there's any hierarchy in Microsoft cert numbering system, that is - could I, based soley on numbers of the exams, know which exam shoud I take first, second, etc., and where do I have to start if I want to take the path, e.g. of sysadmin?

And I noticed that almost all exams start with 70-xxx prefix, does this number 70 means something or not (since I didn't see any to start with 80-)?

Thanks in advance, I'm rather new to certifications.

2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Short answer: "No".

Long answer: "Maybe" - while there is no hierarchy with the MS exams, I have found that in the MCSA/MCSE track or the MCITP: SA/EA track, the exams build on one another. But the 70-271 (from the MCDST track) is easier than exam 70-270 (from the MCSA/MCSE track)

On the prefix:

70 - live standard exam
    71 - beta exam
    72 - Academic version of the live standard exam (content is no different)
    74 - Partner Competency exams
    77 - Office based ones (MCAS/MCAP)
    83 - new performance based exams based on the 70 series

-ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. Thomas

Thomas New Member

Great explanation, thank you!
    As I suspected, this 70- prefix is 'pretty' random, but your explanation regarding
    prefixes is useful, it helps to cope more easily with exam codes.

As I read on MS.com, when you pass the 70-270 exam you're MCP, so my plan is to take that
    one first, and then continue through MCSA/MCSE track...

PS. Maybe a little OT, but is it the same case with other certs numbering systems (from Cisco, IBM...)

Thanks again for prompt and useful answer!

4. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster