Novell admin to Microsoft admin

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by THXbob, May 27, 2011.

1. THXbob

THXbob Bit Poster

Hi

For the last 10+ years the company that I work for has used Novell from NetWare 4.11 days to Suse Linux Enterprise Server 10.3. We have in place eDirectory and GroupWise 7.0.3, there are Windows Servers in use but just as hosts for SQL etc.

We are moving away from GroupWise to Outlook/Exchange of which neither I have any knowledge, and I can't ask anyone else as I'm the sole IT guy.

I have no knowledge of AD, Outlook/Exchange or Windows Server so basically I'm asking where do I start? Is a foundation course on Windows Server 2008 best thing to do to get me started?

I haven't studied for years so going to embark on some of the CompTIA certs first (A+ and Network+) just to get back into home study.

Slightly daunted but very excited.

Thanks

Robert

WIP: CompTIA A+ and Network+
  2. dales

dales Terabyte Poster

Oh dear your in for a bumpy ride then! I've always wanted to have AD for users and groupwise for email, Outlook and exchange together are very shaky compared to groupwise. (I left a novell environment myself nw6.5 and gw8 by the time I went).

I take it your doing exchange and outlook 2010. For books you could get either the certification path titles for the version of exchange you are deploying LINK or the inside out series.

GroupWise to Exchange 2007 - Interoperability and Migration (Part 1)
    this link may prove useful and from memory there is a migration tool for gw to exc cant remember if it was on M$ or novell site (prob M$) to help the user and mail merge.

Certifications: vExpert 2014+2015+2016,VCP-DT,CCE-V, CCE-AD, CCP-AD, CCEE, CCAA XenApp, CCA Netscaler, XenApp 6.5, XenDesktop 5 & Xenserver 6,VCP3+5,VTSP,MCSA MCDST MCP A+ ITIL F
    WIP: Nothing
  3. Shinigami

Shinigami Megabyte Poster