Not having much luck so far...

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by arisen, Oct 11, 2005.

1. arisen

arisen Byte Poster

Hi everyone, new to the forums! Great place...

Been trying to get into IT for a few months, i don't have any real IT experience and no certs as yet, although i am working on getting my Net+ done very soon. I have a computing degree though, but i'm not convinced it's worth much in getting an entry level job in this industry! :rolleyes:

I've considered joining a training provider to help with study structure and motivation etc, but i just can't seem to bear parting with the cash! £3-4k is all the money in the world to me right now and that student loan balance aint going anywhere soon!

I've applied for 19 jobs so far, all online through reed and jobsite.co.uk. So far i've only had 2 callbacks and one rejection, no interviews, and the rest were silences.

Can anyone offer me some direction? Will it be possible for me to get an IT job after getting some certs with no experience?

Should i consider trying to get someone to give me some voluntary work with them?

Help :oops:

Certifications: BEng, PRINCE2, ITIL, Net+
    WIP: MSc, Linux+ 2009, RHCE
  2. ffreeloader

ffreeloader Terabyte Poster

Do you have a 2 or 4 year degree? What is it in, specifically? And, yes, a degree without experience is about as good as certs without experience when it comes to finding your first job. I think the degree, depending on what it is, would probably be seen as more valuable here in the US with a lot of employers than certs would be. It all comes down to who is doing the hiring in the end though.

Experience is the key to finding that first job. It's the conundrum many of us are facing.

Certifications: MCSE, MCDBA, CCNA, A+
    WIP: LPIC 1
  3. Aureilius

Aureilius Byte Poster