Noob - Apologies

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by msa92, Apr 13, 2013.

1. msa92

msa92 New Member

Hi,

I have always wanted to have a future in security i.e. hacking. I am currently studying the CompTIA Security+ book for the exam I will be taking soon. For me to become an expert in information security what steps will I need to take after the exam? On the CompTIA website it shows what you need to become an expert in security.
    certification.comptia(.)org/ExploreCareers/careerpaths/career_roadmap.aspx
    After reviewing this, what are the possibilities of me finding a job after doing all the accreditation listed on the road-map in becoming a security expert. I am only 20 years old living in the UK, what are the possibilities of me finding employment here in the UK or anywhere else in the world.

Do I require a degree?

WIP: CompTIA Security+
  2. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

What you really need is experience, if you want to be a 'hacker' then you're going to have to have a decent understanding of a number of different areas, whether that's programming, web servers, networking or basic OS you need to have an idea and understanding of where to look for vulnerabilities to by-pass.

Now of course if you're already hacking things and have a 'portfolio' of sorts then the chances of walking into a White Hat Hacking company increase but if all you've done is watch Hackers and thought that's what you want to do then you really need to get a background exposure to Sys Admin type work first.

The Security guys that I work with have all tended to come from a Linux\Unix background, worked in Global Network Operations type roles and have a decent grounding in OS\Network\Webservers and a programming language or 2.

Wait for Rob1234 to come along and see if he can offer more advice (he is a security guy).