Next Steps?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Bretty, Jun 11, 2009.

1. Bretty

Bretty New Member

Hi guys. I have been reading through your forum for a few hours today and I'm just looking for some info. After recently being made redundant from my job as a HGV mechanic I was thinking of going back into IT. I did Applied ICT at GCSE and have ICT AS qualifications (I dropped out of college after my first year as an Apprenticeship came us as a mechanic). Don't get me wrong I love mechanics but I also love computers.

From reading your site and speaking to a person from Advent who filled me with nonsense and wanted nearly 6 grand for the course I have decided to self study. I would be looking into going into tech and have just ordered 2 books that I have seen recommended on this forum, these are CompTIA A+ Certification All-in-One Exam Guide, Sixth Edition and PC Technician Street Smarts: A Real World Guide to CompTIA A+ Skills.

Where do I go from here? Any information or suggestions would be greatly appreciated :)

Thanks for your time,

Bretty

2. Josiahb

Josiahb Gigabyte Poster

Read the books, take some practice exams and then go for it!

At the same time start getting in contact with anyone and everyone who might be able to help you get some IT experience, there are other threads on here which give some info on various voluntary organisations as well as the many job sites you can hit up and start looking for work.

Certifications: A+, Network+, MCDST, ACA – Mac Integration 10.10
  3. Qs

Qs Semi-Honorary Member Gold Member

Looks like you have the basics down, which is good. Glad you didn't pay through the nose to a training provider and are doing the study the more manly way :p