Newbie with many questions (feeling overwhelmed)

Discussion in 'CIW Certifications' started by Snoopy329, Jun 18, 2009.

1. Snoopy329

Snoopy329 New Member

Hi everybody. I am a newbie; a newbie to the certification world anyways. I had no idea the amount of information and disinformation there is all over the internet regarding certification. I have been reading a lot of posts on this forum and you guys are very helpful. As a newbie,I still have a few questions I would love to get answered as I am feeling very overwhelmed as to which path I should take.

I ask you guys to please correct me on anything I am about to say. I would like to get my foot in the door into the IT world thru web development. I would like to get the CIW certifications. I know this will not mean I will be a guru but at least it will show that I have studied enough to get some basic to intermediate knowledge in web development. After this, I know I will need to study more in the area of web languages. Then, I will need to build a portfolio and then I may be able to get an entry level job. I hope I'm right on this.

Now for the questions. Regarding the CIW certification training: Are the books on the actual certification website (ciwcertified.com) not adequate enough to take the foundation exam 1D0-510? They are not a braindump are they? I mean it is from the actual website. I see a lot of people recommending training by other places like Measureup.com. Do you guys have any other recommendations in regards to better training? I know I can read books on my own but, I prefer a structured curriculum.

Thank you in advance guys.

Fernando

2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Welcome!