Newbie looking for advice

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by JonG, Jul 4, 2009.

1. JonG

JonG New Member

Hi everyone,

I'm a new member here looking for some advice about studying for the CompTIA A+ and Network+ certs to try to get into an entry-level IT technician hardware-based role. I graduated in automotive engineering with a 2:2 last year but have had no luck at all finding employment so am looking to IT as another career option.

I am looking into various Training Providers at the moment, although this looks quite an expensive option. I am being visited on Monday afternoon at my home address by a popular TP (don't know if I'm at liberty to name them?) regarding studying towards the CompTIA A+/Network+.

I have browsed here a little before registering and was wondering if I was a suitable candidate for just buying the materials myself and taking the exam at a local venue when I'm ready.

I have been messing around with computer hardware for many years now and build my own systems, would this level of knowledge be sufficient to study for these two certs myself?

I thank everyone for any advice given and sorry for the long post :oops:.

Regards,

JonG.

2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Hi & welcome to CF :)

The A+, Network+, MCDST and the MCTS: Vista, would and should be within your grasp thru self study at your current level. Plus it would be alot cheaper than going thru a private training company.

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. Notes_Bloke

Notes_Bloke Terabyte Poster

Hi & welcome to CF:D

Another vote for self-study.

NB

Certifications: 70-210, 70-215, A+,N+, Security+
    WIP: MCSA
  4. soundian

soundian Gigabyte Poster

Welcome.

Self-study. Definitely.
    If you decide it's not for you, it's only cost you the price of a book to find out.