Newbie Here!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by buzbo, May 14, 2008.

1. buzbo

buzbo New Member

Hi all thought I would make a post and introduce myself.

I'm 21 and would like to switch my career into IT.

I am currently working in the motor industry which I kinda fell into and want out.

I have always been around computers since a young age and now I want to do something about it but not really sure where to start.

I don't have any qualifications other than GCSE of which I passed fine. I dont want to go to university however but will welcome studying be at home or class's.

I really am interested in networking and want to learn more about it and move into a career where I can progress.

Can anyone really give me some information of how I can try and progress?

Thanks

Chris

WIP: A+
  2. sunn

sunn Gigabyte Poster

Welcome to the forum...

You said you're willing to study at home -great! Because most will encourage going with a self-study option. Pick up a book on A+ and start with that.

3. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi Welcome :)

With the IT industry harly any people start of in the job they want, in your case you say you want to go into networking. What normally happens (there can be some people who are lucky) is that you start of working on a help desk or in a 1st line support role then you progress into a job such as networking after gaining some good experience.

The IT certifications you should be looking at studying are compTIA A+, compTIA N+ and Microsofts MCDST in that order.