Newbie Help using Oracle Virtual Box

Discussion in 'Virtual and Cloud Computing' started by jvanassen, Sep 26, 2012.

1. jvanassen

jvanassen Kilobyte Poster

Hi

I'm new to setting up VM's but am now setting up my own lil lab of VM's in a hope of advancing my knowledge of AD & Exchange. My boss has just bought me the Microsoft press book on Exchange 2010 so I have just set myself up a simple domain controller and then a user PC to connect up to this DC. Then next on my list is follow the book which i believe starts off taking you through setting up another server and installing Exchange.

Would i be right in saying the best way to run these is to set them up then connect to them is using remote desktop? It feels like that neway as the lil windows that open in Virtualbox the mouse is all laggy etc.

Anyway my question is once ive connected to these VM's using remote desktop is there anyway i can close down these Virtualbox VM windows without being asked if i want to shut down the VM.

My main reason for wondering if i can close down these windows whilst the VM is still running in the background is because i only have 6GB memory on this machine and want to try save resources. Ive used vsphere at work and know that u dont have to have windows open so just wondering if it was the same with this.

Last edited: Sep 26, 2012
    Certifications: CompTIA A+, Network+, CCENT
    WIP: ICND2 200-101
  2. dales

dales Terabyte Poster

6 Gigs is plenty for a couple of VM's, you should change the default amount of ram allocated down to 1GB per vm which should be enough just for labbing stuff up.
    Have you installed the virtualbox tools in each VM as this may help you with the laggy mouse issue, but TBH using RDP is the best bet. You can use an app such as mremoteNG to easily connect to rdp sessions and toggle between them.