Newbie & advice needed

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by hally83, Jan 18, 2009.

1. hally83

hally83 New Member

Hey,

Just stumbled across this site when looking for info on the A+ and N+ certs. Had a "careers advisor" from skillstrain round the other day and after the amount of money he quoted for the above exams, Thought I'd do a bit more research.

I think going it alone is the way forward, think I could buy a few hundred books/test exams with the money I'd save!

What do you guys think? Going it alone, or parting with a hideous amount of money. I don't currently work in the industry but have built, repaired and troubleshooted my own and friends PC's, so I'm not a complete beginner.

Ideally would like to progress onto CCNA, but doing the A+ first, then N+.

I'd welcome your thoughts!

Thanks,

Chris.

2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Hi and welcome to CF!

Yes - you will save a *lot* of money by going it alone - but you must put in the hours and the dedication! :biggrin

A+ and N+ are a very good start in IT.

Why CCNA? Just because you have seen the letters quoted a lot - or because you are filled with enthusiasm for all things Cisco?

If the former then you might want to reconsider!

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. -Mercury-

-Mercury- Byte Poster

Hi and welcome Chris,

Sounds like you have found the right answers already. :D

Self study A+ and Net+ is an excellent start.

Check out Mike Meyers all-in one books on Amazon. A+ HERE , Net+ HERE and HERE (This one is for the new exam, book due out in April)

Mercury

Certifications: MCSA|MCDST|A+|Net+
    WIP: CCENT
  4. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Hi & welcome to CF :)