New to VM Ware - which version?

Discussion in 'Virtual and Cloud Computing' started by beckyboo, Mar 16, 2009.

1. beckyboo

beckyboo Bit Poster

Hi, I am sorry if this has been elsewhere but I could do with some help as I'm completely new to virtual setups.
    We have a Windows Server 2003 domain which I would like to replicate in a virtual enviroment for testing purposes.
    I was hoping to install it on a desktop PC which isn't overly powerful (XP pro, Intel Dual Core, 500GB HDD & 2GB RAM) but its all I have available.

Someone suggested I try VM Workstation and other people have said VM Server.
    I wanted to add a virtual DC and 3 virtual TS's to the virtual machine, can anyone suggest what would do the job best?

Thanks in advance.

WIP: A+Essentials & Technician, MCSE
  2. Big_nath

Big_nath Kilobyte Poster

your PC could do with a bit more ram if your looking at running a few VM's at once. I use VM workstation, but you need to pay for that. Most people say VM server is fine.

Certifications: MCP, MCSA, MCSA:M, MCSE, MCTS
    WIP: A few
  3. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

VMWare workstation will cost you money, where as vmware server is free.

If you are completely new to virtualisation you may find that MS Virtual Pc 2007 is the easiest one to use as this is also free.

4. beckyboo

beckyboo Bit Poster

Hi, I was looking for a free version so VM Server or Windows Virtual PC sound like the better options for me.
    Will both of these be capable of replicating our domain?

I have already installed VM Server and am just in the process of downloading Server 2003 VHD.

If I decided to go with Windows Virtual server would my current set up be good enough to run several virtual machines?

Ah I'm confused!

5. Big_nath

Big_nath Kilobyte Poster

It is pretty simple to setup a test domain with either.

Certifications: MCP, MCSA, MCSA:M, MCSE, MCTS
    WIP: A few
  6. beckyboo

beckyboo Bit Poster