New to the world of IT would love some expert advice

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by craney, Dec 2, 2009.

1. craney

craney New Member

Hi everyone im kinda new to the IT field and was looking for some advice really, i feel i have a basic understanding of hows the windows OS works this is from mainly teaching myself i can build a compiter from scratch no probs. My main question is i have been put on a course that is studing the MCDST cert as well as the MCSA i have 3 months to complete the course, im using the microsoft e learning that the dynamic IT company im doing the course with gave me so its all online which is kinda good. As i am more a less learning this from scratch i am finding it kinda hard to take it all in and i have been thinking is this really the right course for me, it covers so may areas and the network side of it is really confusing me. If im honest i am really keen on l earning and being involved in the hardware side of things so was wondering if someone could may point me in the right direction of which course i should be taking. I have tried so hard over the last week to try and understand the MCDST i have considered getting some books to maybe help me but they seem to be pricey

Anyway sorry for going on i hope some of you could point me in the right direction from your own experience and maybe help me understand the best way of learning the material

many thanks

liam

2. Fergal1982

Fergal1982 Petabyte Poster

First off. Welcome to the forum.

Im afraid you are going to have to knuckle down and learn the software side of things. Very few jobs around are going to want to just to support the hardware, and pay no attention to the software. Whilst you may find jobs that emphasise the hardware more, there will still be the software side of things. And more so, the networking stuff - you are going to have to support networking in a corporate environment to some degree.