New to MCSE

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Solidarity14, Nov 15, 2005.

1. Solidarity14

Solidarity14 New Member

I am new to this field (MCSE) as most of you seem to be. I am just looking into doing the MCSE courses at home through Advent learning, I see that several of you have chosen this route and are finding it quite difficult. I have a reasonably good knowledge of PC's and have taught myself everything I know so hopefully I will be able to get through this (possibly with a lot of help from this forum!!!). If anyone has any advice please feel free as I will probably need lots of it.

2. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

Hi Solidarity and welcome to the forum :D

The best advice I can give you is stick around this forum throughout your quest for MCSE. It is a long tough road to follow and this thread is not the one to go into finite detail. I would suggest you pose a question now in the certification forums and I am sure you will get many responses.

Ask something like this... I am thinking of pursuing the MCSE 2003 track, I have x years experience with XYZ and have been working in the industry as an X for the past X years. How should I approach this, is self study possible or should I maybe join up with a training provider? How long does it usually take? Are the exams really hard? Is the certification going to land me a great job with fantastic money?

The answers people here will give to those type of questions will enlighten you, I am sure!

Pete

Certifications: C&G Electronics - MCSA (W2K) MCSE (W2K)
  3. moominboy

moominboy Gigabyte Poster

welcome to CF mate! and what Blurinse said! :tongue

Certifications: ECDL
    WIP: A+
  4. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster