New to IT (hence the name)

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by NewBee, Mar 13, 2009.

1. NewBee

NewBee Bit Poster

Hi guys,

I was wondering if you could give me a bit of advice. I'm 28 and I first started doing any form of computer training back when I was 16. I did a BTEC national diploma in computer studies and I found the course to be really poor, the lecturers were poor and it basically put me off a career in computing! After that I went back and did some A-levels and went on to do a degree in Business management. After finishing uni 3 years ago and now working for a bank, I've decided that I want to give an IT career another go. I've always had a passion for computing, I've done bit of building my own p.c's and wrote a couple of web sites but obviously I've got very little experience in the IT industry other than a weeks work experience 11 years ago!

After doing a bit of research I was hoping to go down the route of self studying for an A+ and then the N+ and hopefully then on to an MCDST and maybe an MCSE after (depending on how things go). I've had a look into the course content and I think its the path I want to follow. My question is is what path would you suggest for getting into the IT industry? How would I be best gaining experience or do you think employers are likely to take me based on my (potential) IT qualifications?

Thanks guys, sorry its so long winded!

Certifications: BTEC National Diploma in Computer Studie
    WIP: A+
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

I'd recommend the A+, Network+, and MCDST, but no farther until you build some real-world IT experience.

That said, don't wait until you're certified to start looking for your first IT job... start looking NOW. If you get the A+ before you find a job, add it to your CV and keep looking while you study for the Network+.

Welcome to the forums!