New to contracting! Advice needed, cheers!

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by millsie, Dec 13, 2013.

1. millsie

millsie Byte Poster

Hey all,

After becoming a father for the first time this week to a bundle of joy a daughter I have also been out job hunting and found a contract position that I interviewed for and secured the role as a network engineer. So it was happy days this week!! :biggrin

However, this is my very first time contracting as previous roles since I entered into this career of IT have all been permanent.

I need some advice on umbrella companies, how they work, what to avoid, whether this is my only option to sort out my affairs and how to get the best deal. Im sure there's tons of stuff on google but this is the place I normally come to for accurate info from people in the know!

At the moment all I have done is sign a contract and its down to me to sort this matter.

Im not sure if there is any articles on cert that anyone can point me to? There was nothing pinned anyway but i'd imagine this has been touched on quite a few times before so I apologize in advance if anyone feels they are repeating themselves!

Cheers in advance guys

Millsie

Certifications: N+, CCNA, MCDST
    WIP: CCNP route 642-902
  2. zxspectrum

zxspectrum Terabyte Poster Forum Leader Gold Member

Well they all differ in bits and bobs, i know that much.

The one i used were quite ok, although some people did slate them, but i found if you were straight with them and made sure you knew how you were getting paid, ie weekly, fortnightly or monthly. They do give you all your money apart from tax, which they pay on your behalf, any holiday pay is given to you in your wages.

Keep on top of everything and youll be fine, i think i went for the cheapest option, but there were other options but what they were is beyond me now.

Ill look for the name of the one i used, and ill post it to you

Ed

Certifications: BSc computing and information systems
    WIP: 70-680